News & Events


Good Design Australia is proud to announce the Judging Panel for the 2014 Premier’s Design Awards which features design leaders from Australia and around the world.

The Judging Panel is made up of design experts that represent the six main categories in this year’s Premier’s Design Awards including product design, communication design, service design, design strategy, digital design and architectural design.

This year, the best design in each category will be recognised as well as an overall winner. The Premier’s Design Awards celebrate Victoria’s design capabilities and businesses that invest in design, by highlighting design’s contribution to business success through increased market share, financial value and sustainability, and environmental and social outcomes.

The Premier’s Design Awards demonstrate new insights or ways of thinking that enable design to be effectively applied in a business.

Applications close on Monday 23 June 2014.

Winners will announced at the Premier’s Design Awards Presentation Ceremony in September 2014.

Chaired by Ken Cato AO, the judging panel of international and interstate designers comprises:

Anupama Kundoo (India) – founder of her own award winning architecture practice, with a strong focus on material research;

Cordula Alessandri (Austria) – leading Austrian designer, recognised for her distinctive work in packaging, corporate identity, wine and food labels;

Dale Herigstad (USA) – a thought leader on the future of media consumption in an interactive and “many-screen” world of increasingly rich media interfaces;

Dan Formosa (USA) – brings the design process to life through ever-evolving research methodologies and a deep understanding of people’s emotional and physical needs;

Gabriela Rodriguez (Mexico) – internationally awarded graphic designer experienced in large-scale environmental design projects and communication campaigns;

Heather Ware (New Zealand) – collaborates with international clients to achieve success through design strategy, marketing and branding;

Jane Stark (Australia) – founder and Principal Designer of Stark Design, an interior and landscape designing consultancy with local and international clients;

John Bielenberg (USA) – designer, entrepreneur and imaginative advocate for a better world;

Ken Tsai Lee (Taiwan) – co-founder of Behance with an international reputation as a designer, educator and curator;

Rachel Neeson (Australia) – co-founder of Neeson Murcutt, an award winning architecture practice  that pursues a balance of public and private work, operating in urban, suburban, rural and outback settings across Australia;

Richard Hoare (Australia) – Director of Design at Breville, responsible for designing small appliances found in households in over 50 countries;

Richard Seymour (UK) – one of Europe’s best-known product designers;

Robbie Wells (New Zealand) – co-founded 4DESIGN an industrial design and product development consultancy recognised internationally for its creativity and market-driven approach to design;

Ray Labone (New Zealand) – co-founder and Chairman of Designworks Group, actively involved in developing a highly successful design capability improvement model;

Simon Waterfall (UK) – founder of leading global creative agencies, Deepend and Poke, in the UK and trustee of the Design Council CABE;

Soren Petersen (USA) – assists top-tier international organisations to translate business ideas into actionable design concepts for sustainable progress;

Steff Geissbuhler (USA) – celebrated designer of integrated brand and corporate identity programs; and

Tony Brook (UK) – founder of a multi-disciplinary studio, Spin, best known for the creation of powerful contemporary identities for an international clientele.

The Premier’s Design Awards entries close on Monday 23 June 2014.

Full bios of the 2014 Judging Panel here.

The Premier’s Design Awards is an initiative of the Victorian Government and is organised by Good Design Australia.

For media enquiries, interviews and images, please contact Good Design Australia on 02 8015 6686 or

online casino