News & Events


Good Design Australia is proud to be organising the Victorian Premier’s Design Awards for another year and is calling for entries to the 2014 program.

The Premier’s Design Awards celebrate and reward both designers and clients for excellence in the development and use of design and design-led innovation.

This will be the second year that Good Design Australia has managed the awards on behalf of the Victorian Government. “We have made improvements to the awards process this year following valuable feedback from the Victorian design community and I look forward to running this very unique program again,” said Dr. Brandon Gien, CEO of Good Design Australia and President of ICSID, the world organisation for industrial design.

“The Premier’s Design Awards is such a valuable program for the design sector in Victoria as it showcases the best in design, creative thinking and innovation in this state,” said Dr Gien.

The Premier’s Design Awards recognise and celebrate excellence across Victoria’s design sector contributing to business success through increased market share, financial resilience, and social and environmental outcomes.

Design is a contributor to improved business competitiveness and market opportunity. The design sector in Victoria generates $7.3 billion annually for the State’s economy, including more than $200 million in design-related exports.

A panel of international and interstate designers chaired by leading Victorian designer Ken Cato AO will assess applications for the development and use of design in:

Architectural design
Service design
Product design
Communication design
Digital design
Design strategy

This year, the top design in each category will be recognised as well as an overall winner.

Through its $10 million Victorian Design Initiatives 2012-15, the Victorian Government directly assists Victorian firms to improve design skills and capabilities and raise their global competitiveness.

Applications for the 2014 Premiers Design Awards opened today 1 May 2014 and will close 23 June 2014. Successful candidates will be announced at an awards ceremony in September this year.

online casino