About the Awards

Design is a strategic business capability and an important enabler of innovation and creativity for the growth of Victorian businesses and communities.

The design sector is a significant contributor to the Victorian economy. In Victoria, more than 85,000 people are directly employed in design related roles, with the sector generating revenues of $5 billion annually including an estimated $400 million in design-related exports.

The Premier’s Design Awards recognise and reward Victorian designers and businesses using exemplar design effectively and sustainably.

The awards provide an opportunity for businesses and the community to better understand the role of design in making products and services more functional, efficient and attractive, and  increasing productivity and business outcomes.

Entries are accepted in the following categories:

1. Architectural Design
2. Service Design
3. Industrial and Product Design
4. Communication Design
5. Digital Design

6. Design Strategy
7. Fashion Design 

8. Student Design

Entries are judged by an eminent panel of national and international design experts.

Launched in 2012, the Premier’s Design Awards trade mark will be licensed to award winners to use in connection with their businesses as an indication of leadership, expert recognition and prestige.